Take 15% off your next accessory purchase! Use coupon code 15FORFALL at checkout
Buy or reserve your Marcus Bonna case here.
New arrivals: Voigt contrabass trombone, Gronitz F tuba, Alexander tenor tuba

Alexander 163 Rotary CC Tuba


Item Details

For 2017 we have 3 Alexander 163 CC tubas on order.  We expect one yellow brass and one gold brass bell version to arrive in July.  Another gold brass bell model will arrive in December.  We're glad to assist with a reservation if you're ready for a new Alexander tuba.


This is a hand made professional CC tuba custom built in Mainz, Germany. Its rotary valves are .808" bore, and construction is very light yellow brass with optional gold brass bell, or all gold brass body. The bell is made the old fashioned way, with a large hand-hammered piece of brass finished with a triangle seam. This method of production requires a lot of skill and is considered a superior way to build a bell flare. It doesn't get much classier than an Alexander tuba. These are very light instruments, and they're simply alive when you play them. Similar lightweight models are made by Rudolph Meinl, Gronitz, and Adams, and all these are distinct from the heavier offerings from B&S, Miraphone, and Willson. Older Alex tubas have had a reputation for quirkiness. However these new models are most excellent. The sound of this horn is a classic orchestral tuba sound. The rotors are fast and smooth. The response is almost immediate and the tone is pure and rich with a powerful sonic quality. Check out the amazing details and hand engraving in the photos. Most players who stop by the shop find this to be one of their favorite large CC tubas.


  • JK mouthpiece
  • cloth storage bag
  • lyre
  • lubricants


Who won an audition on an Alexander 163 tuba?

National Symphony - won by David Bragunier in 1961
Boston Symphony/Boston Pops - won by Chester Shmitz in 1966
Cleveland Orchestra- won by Ronald Bishop in 1967
Cincinnati Symphony/Cincinnati Pops - won by Mike Thornton in 1976
Houston Symphony - won by David Kirk in 1982
U.S. Army Field Band - won by David Zerkel in 1986
U.S. Army Band - won by David Zerkel in 1990
Florida Philharmonic - runner up Lee Hipp in 1991
San Antonio Symphony - won by Lee Hipp in 1991
Oklahoma City Philharmonic - won by Ted Cox in 1993
Greenwich Village Orchestra - won by Ben Vokits in 2010

More from this collection

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal